Limpopo National Park (LNP) came into existence in November 2001, when the area encompassing a former hunting reserve, Coutada 16, was reclassified as a national park.

This was the first major step in a process that enabled the realisation of a long-held vision to link together national parks from three different southern African countries to create one great transfrontier conservation area. In December 2002, the Great Limpopo Transfrontier Park, or GLTP, was established, linking Kruger National Park in South Africa, Gonarezhou National Park in Zimbabwe and Limpopo National Park, in Mozambique. The GLTP falls within the Great Limpopo Transfrontier Conservation Area (GLTFCA) which includes Banhine and Zinave National Parks to the east of LNP.

After an intensive period of preparation, Limpopo National Park was itself officially opened to the public on 6th December 2005, when the presidents of the three GLTP member countries opened the Giriyondo Border Gate between Kruger National Park and Limpopo National Park. The Park is under the authority if the National Administration of Conservation Areas (ANAC) under the Ministry of Land and Environment and is being developed and managed through a co-management agreement with Peace Parks Foundation.